October 4, 2010

Salmon Puff Tarts


Over the weekend I hosted a dinner party for the FoodBuzz Blogger Challenge #3.  I needed an appetizer that was a bit different from what I normally make and would be easy to put together for a crowd.  After a lot of recipe searching I came up with this creation.  Classic flavors that go together in an individual tart!  Puff pastry tarts filled with dill cream, smoked salmon and butter fried shallots!

For the tart shells I used Pepperidge Farm Frozen Puff Pastry.  Don't try and find a fancy version at Whole Food's, they didn't have anything.  The old stand-by is perfect!

I let the dough defrost for about 30 minutes on a flour lined surface.  I cut the dough along the folds, and then I cut those pieces in thirds.  I cut about 1/4" strips off of the edges.  These are for the borders on the tarts!  Just press the strips (lightly) around the edges of the squares.

For the filling:
1 cup sour cream (you can even use low or fat free)
1 heaping tablespoon horseraddish
1 heaping tablespoon capers
1 heaping tablespoon finely chopped fresh dill
salt and pepper
lemon zest (optional)
3 shallots finely sliced and pan fried in butter till crispy
1 package smoked sliced salmon

Mix all ingredients except salmon & shallots
Bake the tart shells per package instructions
When cool,  spread a spoonful of cream mixture over pastry.  Top with a piece of salmon, shallots and garnish with fresh dill and capers.

Assemble these right before serving because the tart will get soggy if you try to make the night or morning before.  They were delicious with champagne!  You just can't go wrong with champagne, a buttery pastry and smoked salmon!


14 comments:

  1. Love those tarts! They would make a great appetizer!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Those look and sound delicious! Perfect for a party, thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Hi there, Im Helene from Happy @ Thirty.
    Ive just discovered your blog from FoodBuzz and woaw, I already really like it. Your luxury dinner looks amazing (I voted for it).
    Im for sure gonna come back ;)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I adore smoked salmon with all the fixings. These are a beautiful and flavourful app!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Anonymous6.10.10

    fantastic food, great friends, a dinner party done perfectly - kudos lauren!

    ReplyDelete
  6. That looks really delicious and so beautiful. Love the presentation!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Oh my goodness, these look divine!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I LOVE salmon- that looks delish! My absolute favorite salmon dish is linguine with smoked salmon. It's definitely not healthy, but it tastes amazing!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I'm going to try them for a girls night get tigether on thursday! thanks for the recipe and wish me good luck!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletfactory-stores.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface-outlets.com.co

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardypopsale.com

    Coach Outlet Store Online http://www.coachstoreonline.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.in.net

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordansretro.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet Store http://www.michaelkorsoutletsstores.us.com

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurses.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutlet2016.us.com

    Tory Burch Shoes http://www.toryburch-outlet.us.org

    Longchamp Outlet http://www.longchampoutlet.in.net

    Michael Kors Handbags http://www.innnov8.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.innnovate.com

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoes.us.org

    Moncler Jackets http://www.monclerdownjackets.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.us.com

    Moncler Outlet http://www.moncleroutletonline.in.net

    Coach Factory http://www.maganates.com

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactorysoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katesapdeoutlet.us.org

    Ray Ban Outlet http://www.raybanoutletstore.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoes2016.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlets.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachoutletstore.name

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletonline.name

    Coach Outlet http://www.coach-outlets.us.org

    Nike Roshe Run http://www.tanie-nikerosherun.pl

    Buty Nike Air Max http://www.airmaxsprzedazdla.pl

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeairmax.us.org

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoe.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Outlet http://www.christianlouboutinoutlet.us.org

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciagaoutlets.us.com

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciaga-handbags.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    Toms Shoes http://www.tomshoesoutlet.us.com

    Hermes Belt http://www.hermes-belts.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradafactoryoutlet.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuittonsoutlet.us.com

    North Face Outlet Store http://www.northfaceoutletstore.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.north-face.in.net

    North Face http://www.north-faceoutlets.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuitton-outlets.us.org

    Timberland Boots http://www.timberland-outlets.us.com

    Cheap Timberland Boots http://www.timberlandoutlet.us.com

    Tory Burch Outlet http://www.outlettoryburch.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutletusa.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlaurenstoreoutlet.us.com

    Gucci Shoes http://www.guccifactoryoutlet.name

    Gucci Outlet http://www.guccioutletco.us.com

    North Face Jackets http://www.northfacefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradaoutlets.in.net

    Hollister Clothing http://www.hollister-clothing.us.com

    Ferragamo Shoes http://www.ferragamoshoes.us.org

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffany-outlets.us.com

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffanyco-outlet.us.com

    NFL Jerseys http://www.nfljerseys.name

    Toms Outlet http://www.outlettoms.us.com

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordans.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.thenorthfaceoutlet.us.org

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-korsoutletstores.us.com

    Prada Handbags http://www.pradaoutlet.us.org

    Chan Luu Sale http://www.chanluu.us.com

    Toms Outlet http://www.tomsoutletstores.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletonline.us.org

    Beats By Dr Dre http://www.beatsbydrdre.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    ReplyDelete